Sonic Diet

Six Out of Twelve Months Down: The Cup is Half Full (Scott Lucey’s Best of The Year Thusfar)

Akron Family

words by Scott Lucey

Hello friends and listeners!

If you listened last week Wednesday, June 22nd, I took some time to recap what I thought were some of the better albums to come out in this year so far.

It’s always a bigger chore than I anticipate to sort through my year end top fifty, twenty-five and ten albums/tracks of a year. Each year I’ve done so, I scold myself for not getting a jump start on things at the six-month point. As a means to make things easier on my 2011 year end list, I share with you my head start of my preferred 2011 releases, in order of later to most recent:

Botany: Feeling Today

Fujiya & Miyagi: Ventriloquizzing

Akron/Family: Akron/Family II / The Cosmic Birth and Journey of Shinju TNT

When Saints Go Machine: Fail Forever (an album previously released in Scandinavia, released in the U.S. in 2011)

Iron & Wine : Kiss Each Other Clean

Deerhoof: Deerhoof vs. Evil

Say Hi: Um, Uh Oh

Cut Copy: Zonoscope

Chikita Violenta: Tre3s

The Luyas: Too Beautiful to Work

Baths: Pop Music / B-Sides

Toro Y Moi: Underneath the Pine

The Concretes: wywh

Starf*****: Reptillians

The Dodos: No Color

Rainbow Arabia: Boys and Diamonds

Delicate Steve: Wondervisions

Bibio: Mind Bokeh

Pantha du Prince: XI Versions of Black Noise

…and, if you’re curious who’s the freshest of the fresh, these are some of my most recent favorites:

Battles: Gloss Drop

Junior Boys: It’s All True

Son Lux: We Are Rising

Com Truise: Galactic Melt

GIVERS: In Light

Gardens & Villa: S/T

Sorting through the first half of 2011, I can certainly admit some favorites. I won’t reveal them here, however. Tune into 91.7 FM WMSE every Wednesday from 6 a.m. until 9 a.m. for the rest of the year, if you’re interested in guessing who might come out on top.

Scott Lucey DJs WMSE’s always excellent ‘Digital Dumplings in Analog Gravy’ show, every Wednesday from 6 a.m. to 9 a.m.

This entry was published on June 29, 2011 at 5:38 pm. It’s filed under General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

