Sonic Diet

WMSE Song of the Day (Tune In Turn Up): The Chain Gang of 1974 “Hold On”

words by Dori Zori

I am lucky to have so many friends that introduce me to great music. And each festival we go to, there is always a “must see” band that my friend Terrance has on his list. At Lollapalooza this year, it was The Chain Gang of 1974 (the project of Kamtin Mohager) from Denver, Colorado. Terrance said two magical words and I was instantly intrigued…”dance” and “80’s”. I’m kinda a sucker for both of those things. The show was on the smallest of the side stages, but had a decent sized crowd and a crazy amount of press photographers scrabbling to the front of the stage. I knew I would love it from the first slappy-bouncy base line that was played. The singer leaped off the stage and spent the first few songs in the crowd, singing and dancing with everyone. This self released album, Wayward Fire, will be played in heavy rotation on my radio show this summer/fall. “Hold On” is my favorite track so far.

This entry was published on August 19, 2011 at 7:40 pm. It’s filed under General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

