Sonic Diet

2012: the Year Ahead in New Music

With WMSE’s Top Picks of 2011 pretty much still hot off the press, it sure feels strange to be trumpeting the forthcoming cavalcade of releases for the year ahead, but trumpet we must for cavalcades are prone to rapid-paced advancement. January already welcomes releases from Cate Le Bon (see the previous post), The Big Pink, Joe Louis Walker, Porcelain Raft, Cloud Nothings, Nada Surf, Lamb Of God, Guided By Voices, Leonard Cohen, Lana Del Rey, Imperial Teen, Rodrigo y Gabriela and Grimes. Be certain that WMSE will be previewing many of these and playing plenty of them over the air.

Take a glance at the first shakedown of the following two months’ releases, with others announced, but unconfirmed on the released dates and get a feel for what your ears will be treated to and what we’re sure to be telling you all about. Happy new year in music! What are you excited to hear?

February, 2012

Air: Le Voyage Dans La Lune

Mark Lanegan Band: Blues Funeral

The Twilight Sad: No One Can Ever Know

Eric Bibb: Deeper in the Well

Dr. Dog: Be the Void

Sharon Van Etten: Tramp

Of Montreal: Paralytic Stalks

Islands: A Sleep & A Forgetting

Otis Taylor: Contraband

Field Music: Plum

Shearwater: Animal Joy

Tennis: Young and Old

Band Of Skulls: Sweet Sour

Sleigh Bells: Reign Of Terror

Cursive: I Am Gemini

Damien Jurado: Maraqopa

Galactic: Carnivale Electricos

Frankie Rose: Interstellar

School of Seven Bells: Ghoststory

Memoryhouse: The Slideshow Effect

Nneka: Soul is Heavy

March, 2012

Bowerbirds: The Clearing

Magnetic Fields: Love at the Bottom of the Sea

Ceremony: Zoo

Andrew Bird: Break it Yourself

Grinderman: Grinderman 2 RMX

The Shins: Port of Morrow

Lee Ranaldo: Between the Times & the Tides

Justin Townes Earle: Nothing’s Gonna Change the Way You Feel About Me Now

Miike Snow: Happy to You

Paul Weller: Sonik Kicks

La Sera: Sees the Lights

More Ahead:

Bear in Heaven, The xx, Busta Rhymes, Dirty Projectors, Regina Spektor, The Joy Formidable, Johnny Marr, The Sea & Cake, Wrens, Jack White, Tyler the Creator, Alabama Shakes, The Knife, Fiona Apple, Modest Mouse, 50 Cent, Xiu Xiu, Best Coast, Spiritualized, Phoenix, Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band, Cibo Matto, Grizzly Bear, Antibalas, Janelle Monae, The Avett Brothers, Animal Collective, Cat Power, Dr. Dre

This entry was published on January 11, 2012 at 8:55 pm. It’s filed under new music, Previews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: