Sonic Diet

Get to Know Your WMSE DJ — AdamZero

WMSE loves free-form radio. Our format’s complete and genuine freedom allows our DJs to explore an insane number of genres — music without limitations! It’s a fact that each WMSE show has its own community within the larger, more inclusive WMSE community; diverse radio programming is rewarded with a loyal listenership like no other.

But because the WMSE DJs are only on the air for three hours each week, you the listener might not get to know them quite as well as you might like, so to give you all a bit more insight, we’re proud to introduce the Get To Know Your WMSE DJ series. Each WMSE DJ gets the same five questions, and just like our free-form format, they choose to answer however they want: short or long, intense or humorously…we ask, they answer, we post.

Sonic Diet will be posting a new addition to the biweekly series on Mondays. Now up:

DJ: AdamZero

Show Name: formerly of The Night Lab (est. 1994) / current WMSE DJ sub

Day/Time: varies

How do you spend your days and nights when not hosting your radio show?

By day, I work for the federal government as an infamous astronaut spy…but that’s about all I can tell you about that. When I’m not at work, I can be found in my basement, which houses the largest private collection of classic arcade games in the city of Milwaukee. I’m up to twenty-eight of them, but I can probably fit a couple more if I make things cozy. If I’m not in the arcade, I’m most likely watching baseball (go, Crew) with my wife or making beats in my studio. Fun fact: I turned down the chance of being (pre-fame) Kid Rock’s DJ. No regrets.

Do you remember what band, album or song took you from being a casual music listener to a passionate music lover? Is there a memory associated with that experience?

As a kid, in the summer of 1984, I have a distinct memory of an evening that changed everything for me, musically. My brother was doing the dishes and his friend from the neighborhood was over with his huge boombox. He’d set it on the kitchen table and said something like, “You gotta hear this song…” I was entranced as it played. It sounded futuristic, robotic, somewhat dark and altogether different than anything else I’d ever heard. It was the start of me becoming obsessive with music; it was the first time I’d heard “Jam On It” by Newcleus.

What band have you heard or discovered in the past six months that reminded you why you want to continue being a WMSE DJ?

That’s a tough call because…being someone who is constantly seeking out new (and “old, but new to me”) music, there’s so many times I hear something amazing and the first thing I think is: I can’t wait to play this for people.  That being said, I’ll go with Yppah and his album Eighty One.  It’s a wonderfully atmospheric and moving album, but very accessible for even the most casual of music listeners.

Who is your favorite non-you WMSE DJ and why?

BTS.WRKNG… for many years, I tuned in EVERY Monday night, without fail, to catch what he was spinning.  It was like a weekly appointment! And from a programming standpoint, there’s a crazy amount continuity to his shows, in how he ties things together from song to song.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I think I’m there already.  If you were to tell the 13 year-old version of me that as an adult, he’d have an old school arcade in his basement, a home studio for making music, a big record collection, a beautiful and witty wife, a wonderful daughter, AND be a DJ at the radio station he listens to nearly every night during homework… I’m pretty sure he’d be blown away.  I’m living the dream (but still playing the lottery).

This entry was published on September 17, 2012 at 1:46 pm. It’s filed under Get To Know Your WMSE DJ's, Interviews, Local Music, WMSE programming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

